Weston Seeding Stronger Communities

Application

SEEDING FOOD INNOVATION GRANTS 2018
PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

George Weston Limited and Loblaw Companies Limited are delighted to launch Seeding Food Innovation grants 2018. We provide seed funding for interdisciplinary research or technology development that help accelerate solutions to sustainable food challenges. Our thematic focus is on production, distribution and consumption initiatives. Research outcomes should impact primarily Canadians, but also deliver key learnings towards issues of global concern.

Information Webinars: June 13th, 14th, 2018 @ 1:00pm EST Download Recording
Letter of Intent (LOI) Deadline: Wednesday, June 27, 2018 - 12:00pm EST
Proposal Deadline: Tuesday, October 9, 2018 - 12:00pm EST
Award Announcement: November 2018

To be re-directed to our online grants system to submit an Application, click here.

Funding & Eligibility

  • Funding of up to $250,000 per project is available for up to two years within the field of food innovation
  • Funding will only be awarded to institutions that are Canada Revenue Agency registered
  • Principal Applicants must be at the level of Postdoctoral Fellow or higher OR have an Administrative Supervisor that has a permanent post at recognised Canadian post-secondary institution
  • Principal Applicants should be based at a Canadian Institution for at least 30% of their time

Review Criteria

The following criteria will be considered in reviewing LOIs and Proposals. At the LOI stage, the primary focus of review will be the scientific idea itself. At the Proposal stage, reviewers will place increased consideration on the strength of the methodology, milestones and contingencies, budgeting and the suitability of the project team and research environment.

  • Scientific Rigour and Innovation: Is the project rigorously scientific, while advancing or challenging current practices? Will the work refine, improve or be a new application of existing knowledge, technologies or methods In addition, research ideas should have a clearly defined focus and objectives? We are also open to trans-disciplinary work that moves beyond the classical boundaries of food production, distribution and consumption. For example, there may be an emphasis on economics, social science and/or behaviour.
  • Vision and scope: While the project is to be primarily executed in Canada and must be significant to Canadian food and health systems, successful projects will also be able to demonstrate relevance and impact at a global scale.
  • Commitment to knowledge mobilization (translation and transfer): How will the projects move beyond academic circles to make a real impact on the health, social and/or economic development for the benefit of Canadians and others around the globe?
  • Likelihood of success: How well-suited are the team and environment for this work? How likely will the project be at developing a novel, practical and scalable solution to a food-related problem?

Important things to know about our Funding

  • Full or partial support of projects: We can support a full project or a portion of any project, but will closely examine the budget justification to ensure fair value in terms of research output and impact.
  • Funds are provided contingent on meeting milestones. If your project is selected, funds are provided in tranches as experimental milestones are successfully completed.
  • Our application process is interactive. Applications that reach the LOI and Proposal Adjudications receive feedback and may be asked to consider making modifications.
  • Many projects are declined at the Letter of Intent (LOI) stage. Only ~15% of LOIs are invited to the Proposal phase, so that applicants and reviewers spend their time on Proposals that have an excellent chance of being funded.
  • We provide more than funding. Our grantees may also benefit from expert advice from our scientific advisors, as well as suggestions from seasoned retail executives with deep experience into customer needs, and networking opportunities.

Additional Information

Please refer to the Funding Guidelines for more detailed information about this grant program.

We welcome inquiries about our funding at Food.Innovation@Weston.ca or 416-965-5472.

Weston Seeding Stronger Communities

Application

Programme de subventions pour projets d’innovations alimentaires 2018
ANNONCE D’UN PROGRAMME

George Weston limitée et Les Compagnies Loblaw Limitée sont heureuses de lancer le programme de subventions pour projets d’innovations alimentaires 2018. Nous donnons des subventions pour des recherches interdisciplinaires ou des développements de technologies qui permettent de trouver des solutions aux défis en matière d’alimentation. Nous nous axons sur les initiatives de production, de distribution et de consommation. Les résultats de recherches doivent avoir un impact qui toucheront principalement les Canadiens, mais qui procureront aussi des connaissances essentielles permettant de résoudre des problèmes d’envergure mondiale.

Webinaires d’information : Le 13 et 14 juin 2018 à 13 h HNE Télécharger Enregistrement
Date limite pour la lettre d’intention : Le mercredi 27 juin, 12 h HNE
Date limite de la proposition : Le mardi 9 octobre, 12 h HNE
Annonce du prix : Novembre 2018

Pour être redirigé vers notre système en ligne de soumission d’une candidature, cliquez ici.

Financement et admissibilité

  • Nous financerons jusqu’à 250 000 $ par projet pour un maximum de deux ans dans un champ d’innovation alimentaire
  • Le financement ne sera accordé qu’aux institutions inscrites auprès de l’Agence du revenu du Canada.
  • Le demandeur principal doit être au moins boursier postdoctoral OU son supérieur hiérarchique doit occuper un poste permanent dans un établissement postsecondaire reconnu au Canada
  • Le demandeur principal doit être établi dans une institution canadienne au moins 30 % de son temps

Critères de sélection

Les critères suivants seront pris en considération en révisant la lettre d’intention et la proposition. Au niveau de la lettre d’intention, la priorité principale sera axée sur la révision de l’idée scientifique. Au niveau de la proposition, l’emphase sera mise sur la puissance de la méthodologie, les étapes et les imprévus, le budget et la pertinence de l’équipe de projet et l’environnement de recherche.

  • Rigueur scientifique et innovation : Le projet est-il rigoureux et scientifique tout en optimisant ou en remettant en question les pratiques courantes? Le travail va-t-il affiner, améliorer ou devenir une nouvelle application de connaissances, de technologies ou de méthodes existantes? De plus, les idées de recherches doivent comporter un sujet et des objectifs clairement définis. Nous sommes également ouverts aux travaux interdisciplinaires qui vont au-delà des limites classiques de la nutrition et de l’agriculture. Par exemple, l’accent pourrait être mis sur l’économie, les sciences sociales et/ou les comportements
  • Vision et portée : Bien que le projet doit essentiellement être exécuté au Canada et être relié à l’alimentation et au système de santé du Canada, les projets choisis doivent également démontrer la pertinence et les impacts à une échelle globale
  • Engagement à la mobilisation des connaissances (traduction et transposition) : De quelle façon les projets vont-ils aller au-delà du monde académique afin d’avoir un impact réel sur le développement social, économique et/ou de la santé pour les canadiens et d’autres personnes partout dans le monde?
  • Chances de succès : L’équipe et l’environnement sont-ils bien adaptés pour ce travail? Dans quelle mesure est-il probable que le projet développe une solution nouvelle, pratique et mesurable à un problème alimentaire?

Quelques remarques importantes concernant notre financement :

  • Soutien entier ou partiel des projets : Nous pourrons soutenir n’importe quel projet en entier ou en partie, mais nous examinerons attentivement les explications du budget pour nous assurer de la juste valeur des résultats et l’impact des recherches
  • Le financement est fourni selon les étapes terminées : Si votre projet est sélectionné, le financement sera divisé et fourni selon les étapes d’expérimentation étant complétées
  • Notre processus de candidature est interactif : Les applications qui se rendent aux décisions de lettre d’intention et de proposition reçoivent une rétroaction et des changements peuvent être demandés
  • De nombreux projets sont rejetés lors de l’étape de la lettre d’intention : Seulement 15 % des lettres d’intention feront l’objet d’une demande de proposition; les demandeurs et les évaluateurs ont ainsi le temps nécessaire pour se concentrer sur les propositions ayant le plus de chances d’obtenir une subvention
  • Nous offrons plus qu’un financement : Nos bénéficiaires peuvent également recevoir les conseils avisés de nos spécialistes scientifiques, ainsi que des suggestions de la part de responsables commerciaux expérimentés ayant une connaissance approfondie des besoins de la clientèle et la possibilité de profiter de nos réseaux

Renseignements complémentaires

Veuillez consulter les lignes directrices en matière de financement pour plus de renseignements sur ce programme de subventions.

Nous serons heureux de répondre aux questions sur le financement reçues à l’adresse Food.Innovation@Weston.ca ou par téléphone 416-965-5472.