Weston Foods Corporate Responsibilty

Chairman’s Message

At George Weston Limited, we believe our responsibility as a business extends well beyond our shareholders to the community at large. It’s a commitment we take very seriously, as one of Canada’s largest publicly-traded companies and as a family-led firm with roots going back four generations to 1882, when George Weston went door-to-door in a horse drawn wagon delivering fresh baked bread to the people of Toronto.

Our firm’s role as a corporate leader also extends to the way we behave towards the environment. As bakers, distributors and retailers, we need to act responsibly to minimize our environmental footprint and continually strive for sustainable growth.

Our company, including Loblaw Companies Limited and Weston Foods, has played an important part in the commercial development of the country, providing jobs, investing in innovation, and creating opportunities for other businesses. But just as important is the investment we’ve made in our communities, to help strengthen them through social, cultural, educational and environmental initiatives. I am proud of the various charitable commitments that we have made across the group of businesses: either with in-kind donations, financial contributions or with employee volunteering.

In 2017, Loblaw committed $150 million over ten years to fight child hunger and poor nutrition in Canada through local school programs and social service agencies. In addition, George Weston Limited and Weston Foods’ annual employee fundraising campaign, Weston Seeding Stronger Communities, has raised hundreds of thousands of dollars in support of charities that help children and their families eat better and enjoy healthy activities. Those monies raised by our employees are matched, dollar-for-dollar, by the corporation. And through the SHOPPERS.LOVE.YOU campaign focusing on women’s health, more than $57 million has been donated back to charities in the past five years. The W. Garfield Weston Foundation is also one of the country’s most active corporate charitable trusts. For sixty years the Foundation has made substantial contributions in the areas of education, medical research, and the environment.

Between corporate and charitable trust donations, including those of our customers and employees, we make more than $100 million in contributions annually to non-profit organizations across North America. We are proud to play such a substantial role in helping to strengthen our communities and grateful for the continued support of those we serve and with whom we work every day.


Galen G. Weston
Chairman and CEO

George Weston Limited

George Weston Limited and its subsidiaries are focused on improving the quality of life in the communities where our employees live and work.

Loblaw Companies Limited

Loblaw Companies Limited strive to be strong corporate citizens, and we commit to operating in a way which benefits the regions in which we operate, our employees and our stakeholders. Our operations touch almost every community across Canada and we take this responsibility seriously. For more information, please go to www.loblaw.com.

The W. Garfield Weston Foundation

The W. Garfield Weston Foundation is a private Canadian family foundation, associated with the Weston group of companies.
To learn more about the Foundation, please go to www.westonfoundation.org

Responsabilité sociale de l’entreprise : page de renvoi

Message du président

Chez George Weston Limitée, nous croyons que notre responsabilité en tant qu'entreprise s'étend bien au-delà de nos actionnaires mais bien à la communauté dans son ensemble. Nous prenons cet engagement très au sérieux, en tant que l'une des plus grandes sociétés cotées en bourse au Canada et une entreprise familiale fondée en 1882, tandis que George Weston passait de porte en porte à bord d’une charrette tirée par des chevaux pour livrer du pain frais aux habitants de Toronto.

Notre entreprise, y compris Les Compagnies Loblaw Limitée et Weston Foods, a joué un rôle prépondérant dans le développement du pays sur le plan commercial, en créant des emplois, en investissant dans l'innovation et en permettant à d'autres entreprises de prendre de l’expansion. Nous avons aussi grandement investi dans nos communautés, en contribuant à les rendre plus fortes grâce à diverses initiatives sociales, culturelles, éducatives et environnementales. Je suis fier de la manière dont nos différents secteurs d’activité ont soutenu ces communautés, que ce soit par l’entremise de dons de denrées, de contributions financières ou de bénévolat de la part de nos employés.

En 2017, Loblaw s’est engagée à verser 150 millions de dollars sur dix ans pour lutter contre la faim et la malnutrition chez les enfants au Canada par l'entremise de programmes scolaires et d'organismes de services sociaux. De plus, la campagne annuelle de levée de fonds auprès des employés de Weston Foods, Weston – Cultiver des communautés en santé, a permis d'amasser des centaines de milliers de dollars pour soutenir des organismes à but non lucratif qui aident les enfants et les familles à manger mieux et à prendre part à des activités saines. Les sommes recueillies par nos employés sont égalées par la société. Et grâce à la campagne PHARMAPRIX - AIMEZ. VOUS., axée sur la santé des femmes, plus de 57 millions de dollars ont été versés à des organismes de bienfaisance au cours des cinq dernières années. La Fondation W. Garfield Weston compte également parmi les fonds caritatifs les plus actifs au pays. Depuis plus de soixante ans, la Fondation contribue de façon significative aux domaines de l'éducation, de la recherche médicale et de l'environnement.

Si l’on tient compte des dons versés directement par la société, ceux versés à différentes fondations et ceux provenant de la clientèle et de nos employés, nous distribuons annuellement plus de 100 millions de dollars à de nombreux organismes à but non lucratif en Amérique du Nord. Nous sommes fiers de pouvoir venir ainsi en aide aux diverses communautés où nous exerçons nos activités et souhaitons remercier pour leur soutien les personnes que nous servons et celles avec qui nous travaillons au quotidien.


Galen G. Weston
Président et chef de la direction

George Weston limitée

George Weston limitée et ses filiales ont à cœur d’améliorer la qualité de vie au sein des collectivités où vivent et travaillent leurs employés.

Les Compagnies Loblaw limitée

Les Compagnies Loblaw limitée s’efforce d’être un bon citoyen corporatif et s’est engagée à mener ses activités de façon à en faire bénéficier les collectivités où elle est présente, ses employés et ses intervenants. Nos activités touchant pratiquement la totalité des collectivités au pays, nous prenons cette responsabilité à cœur. Pour plus de renseignements, visitez le site www.loblaw.com.

La Fondation W. Garfield Weston

La Fondation W. Garfield Weston est une fondation privée familiale, affiliée au groupe de sociétés de Weston. Pour en savoir davantage sur la Fondation, visitez le site www.westonfoundation.org