Board of Directors

The role of the Board is to provide governance and stewardship to George Weston Limited. Its role is to review corporate strategy, assign responsibility to management for achievement of that strategy, establish limitations on the authority delegated to management, and monitor performance against approved objectives. In fulfilling this role, the Board regularly reviews management’s strategic plans so that they continue to be responsive to the changing business environment in which the company operates

The Board oversees Weston’s approach to corporate governance, succession planning, risk management activities, internal control over financial reporting, disclosure controls and procedures, and information systems to ensure that we accurately and fairly report information to shareholders, other stakeholders and the public.

In addition, the Board is required to appoint corporate officers, and ensure the integrity, ethical and legal conduct of senior management and the company as a whole.

W. Galen Weston, O.C., B.A., LL.D.

W. Galen Weston, O.C., B.A., LL.D.

Executive Chairman of the Corporation; former Chairman, Loblaw Companies Limited; Chairman, Holt, Renfrew & Co., Limited, Brown Thomas Group Limited and Selfridges & Co. Ltd.; President, The W. Garfield Weston Foundation.

Galen G. Weston

Galen G. Weston , B.A., M.B.A.

Executive Chairman and President, Loblaw Companies Limited; Deputy Chairman of the Corporation; Chairman, Choice Properties Real Estate Investment Trust; Chair of President’s Choice Bank; Director, Wittington Investments, Limited.

Pavi Binning

Pavi Binning

President and Chief Executive Officer and former Chief Financial Officer of the Corporation; director of Loblaw Companies Limited; former Chief Restructuring Officer and Chief Financial Officer of Nortel Networks; former Chief Financial Officer and Director of Hanson plc. and Marconi Corporation plc.; former Executive, Diageo plc.

A Charles Baillie

A. Charles Baillie, O.C., B.A., M.B.A., LL.D.1,3

Corporate Director; Former Chair, Alberta Investment Management Corporation; Retired Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Toronto Dominion Bank; former Director, Canadian National Railway Company and TELUS Corporation; Chancellor Emeritus, Queen’s University; President, Authors at Harbourfront; Director, The Royal Conservatory of Music; Former Chair and President, Art Gallery of Ontario’s Board of Trustees; member of the Advisory Committee of Canada’s National History Society; former Chair of the Canadian Council of Chief Executives.

Anthony R. Graham

Anthony R. Graham, LL.D.3,4

Vice Chairman and Director, Wittington Investments, Limited; President, Selfridges Group Limited; President and Chief Executive Officer, Sumarria Inc.; former Vice-Chairman and Director, National Bank Financial; Director, Brown Thomas Group Limited, Graymont Limited, Grupo Calidra, S.A. de C.V.; Holt, Renfrew & Co., Limited, Power Corporation of Canada, Power Financial Corporation, Selfridges & Co. Ltd.; Director, Art Gallery of Ontario, Canadian Institute for Advanced Research, St. Michael’s Hospital, Trans Canada Trail Foundation and Luminato; Chairman, Ontario Arts Foundation and the Shaw Festival Theatre Endowment Foundation.

John S. Lacey

John S. Lacey, B.A.

Consultant to the Chairman of the Board of the Corporation and Loblaw; Chairman of the Advisory Board, Brookfield Private Equity Group; former Chairman, Alderwoods Group, Inc.; former President and Chief Executive Officer of The Oshawa Group (now part of Sobeys Inc.); Director, Loblaw Companies Limited, TELUS Corporation; Chairman, Doncaster Consolidated Ltd.

Isabelle Marcoux

Isabelle Marcoux, B.A., LL.B.2*

Chair, Board of Directors, Transcontinental Inc.; Director, Rogers Communications Inc. and Power Corporation of Canada; Director of the Montreal Children’s Hospital Foundation; former member, Board of Trade of Metropolitan Montreal; former member, Selection Committee, Canadian Business Hall of Fame.

Sarabjit (Sabi) S. Marwah

Sarabjit (Sabi) S. Marwah 1

Corporate Director; Former Vice-Chairman and Chief Operating Officer of The Bank of Nova Scotia; Director, Cineplex Inc. and TELUS Corporation; former Director, Torstar Corporation; Trustee, Hospital for Sick Children; Member of the Board of Directors, Toronto International Film Festival; former Chair, Humber River Regional Hospital; former Member of the Board, the C.D. Howe Institute.

Gordon M. Nixon

Gordon M. Nixon, C.M., O.Ont.1

Corporate Director; Board of Directors, BCE Inc. and BlackRock, Inc.; Former President and Chief Executive Officer, Royal Bank of Canada; Former Chief Executive Officer, RBC Dominion Securities Inc.; Advisory Board, KingSett Canadian Real Estate Income Fund; Chairman, MaRS Discovery District; Chair, Queen’s University Capital Campaign.

J. Robert S. Prichard

J. Robert S. Prichard, O.C., O.Ont., LL.B., M.B.A., LL.M., LL.D.2,3*,4

Non-Executive Chair, Torys LLP; Chair, former President and Chief Executive Officer, Metrolinx; Chair, Bank of Montreal; Director, Onex Corporation and Barrick Gold Corporation; former President and Chief Executive Officer and former Director, Torstar Corporation; President Emeritus, University of Toronto; Trustee, Hospital for Sick Children;

Thomas F. Rahilly

Thomas F. Rahilly, B.A., M.A., LL.B.2,3,4*

Corporate Director; Retired Vice-Chairman, RBC Capital Markets; former Director, Wittington; former Chairman, Board of Trustees, Trinity College at the University of Toronto.

Barbara Stymiest

Barbara Stymiest 1*,3,4

Corporate Director; Chair and Director, Blackberry; Director, SunLife Financial Inc.; Director, President’s Choice Bank; Chair, Canadian Institute for Advanced Research; Trustee, University Health Network; former Member, Group Executive, Royal Bank of Canada; former Chief Executive Officer, TSX Group Inc.; Executive Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer, BMO Nesbitt Burns and former Partner of Ernst & Young LLP; Chair, BoardLeadership Council for the Ivey Institute for Leadership; active with, United Way Campaign Cabinet, and the Royal Ontario Museum.


1 Audit Committee
2 Environmental, Health and Safety Committee
3 Governance, Human Resource, Nominating and Compensation Committee
4 Pension Committee
* Chair of the Committee